Daily Challenges (Excuses)

8 Sep

My noisy husband and daughter converse and scuffle about in the same room as I’m writing this post.

Writing can be challenging. Not because  I don’t have the time or can’t find the words. Rather, it’s due to the daily life situations we all deal with.

Right now I’m working with my stressed out daughter in helping her get ready for college, juggling family needs and looking for a new job. Now I need to clean my home before my brothers visit us today. We only have two hours to neaten up our place.

My daughter says, “Mom, get off the computer. We have to clean the house.”

“Okay. As soon as I finish my post.”

You see, I can’t use  these challenges as an excuse not to write. If I do, I will never get any writing done.

I look at it this way: challenges are good  for my nerves and self-discipline.

Family serves as rich component in writing.

Here’s to reality writing :).

4 Responses to “Daily Challenges (Excuses)”

  1. Kristina Stanley September 8, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    There always seems to be something competing for time. I’ve found the more I write, to more important it has become in my life. So . . . I spend more time at it. That’s doesn’t mean it’s easy to find the time. Good luck to you.

    • never2late2write September 9, 2012 at 8:04 am #

      Thanks Kristina. I have to say, I feel complete when I do take the time to write :).

  2. Kirsten September 9, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    When I read your post, I realized something about writing.
    We don’t need permission. When life sends us obstacles, we don’t ask if it’s okay to write, we tell it that we need to write.
    The house might not be as clean, but the words will grow into something wonderful.
    Keep writing!

    • never2late2write September 10, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks Kirsten. I’ve wrestled with that demon for years having my hubby and daughter telling me I spend too much time writing. I finally put my foot down on that. They now understand, that when I write, it’s my time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

