Rewriting is Painful

29 Sep

Rewriting is painful. I feel like I’m in rehab, retraining stubborn writing patterns and developing muscle tone and flexibility.

How are you coming along with your writing?

It hurts right now, but I know the end result will be worth the painful effort. In the short time I’ve been working with my writing coach and group, I see a long road ahead of me.

I wonder, how people write and publish novels every year. Then again, I’m new at this and I work minutes as day as opposed to hours a day. I tip my hat off to some of my favorite writers & bloggers who are making excellent progress like:
Roz Morris, Cristina Stanley and Kirsten (A Scenic Route).

8 Responses to “Rewriting is Painful”

  1. Kristina Stanley September 29, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Re-writing is painful! But must be done. Thanks for the mention. I appreciate it. I think most writers struggle with re-writing, so just remember you’re not the only one :)

  2. rozmorris @dirtywhitecandy September 30, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Honoured to be mentioned! Rewriting is hard, but one of the ways to get through the pain barrier is to see it as part of the creative process. Each time you rewrite, you make something better. You understand the book more, you hone the characters more, you add more of your own style and you use the unexpected. Rewriting is necessary, but it’s also rewarding.

    • never2late2write October 4, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      Thanks Roz. It really does get better :) I guess if writing were so easy then everyone would be extraordinary writers.

  3. Kirsten September 30, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Aww, thank you for thinking of me, and for mentioning me in such great company. :)

    Rewriting and revising takes me so much longer than doing a first draft, but it is so worth it! The really nice thing about it is that every lesson that you learn along the way becomes another tool in your writer’s toolbox. (to use Stephen King’s metaphor)
    Progress is slow sometimes, I know. I’ve been banging away at this book longer than I care to admit, but I’m beginning to see progress. That is thrilling!

    Keep at this and you’ll see the results. Like dancers and athletes and artists, we all have to practice to improve our craft and achieve our dreams. :)

    • never2late2write October 4, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      I couldn’t agree with you more. I’m definitely learning as I go.

  4. Katherine Checkley October 2, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Oh my gosh! So true. I’ve been revising my novel heavily, and last weekend in a fit of frustration, I actually threw my hands on my cheeks and said (out loud) “this is sooooo hard!” But you’re right…it is worth it in the end. It helps to acknowledge the difficulty. Somehow makes it less scary.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

