Writing 10 Words A Day Makes A Sentence. Perhaps Two.

2 Jan

Tomorrow is my last vacation day. On Wednesday morning I will report to work and get details about the closing of my Agency. The close down/lay offs  may be quick, or this could drag on for several months. I am on the look out for a new job.  However, this time I’m going to seek work doing what I love: writing and public relations.

At any rate, once Wednesday kicks in, I probably won’t be blogging as often–I’m shooting for once a week–since I’ll be working my day job until my time is up–and look for a new job.

As for my novel, I will continue writing a minimum of 10 words per day. You might be saying, ” Get real! It’ll take you 50 years to finish your novel.”  Writing 10 words a day makes a sentence. Perhaps two. Many writers write a minimum of 500 or 1,000 words a day. However, the purpose is more psychological: to show up at my computer every morning regardless of how busy I am. The truth is I’ve never written only 10 words in a sitting. I almost always have to force myself to close the computer.

2 Responses to “Writing 10 Words A Day Makes A Sentence. Perhaps Two.”

  1. Kirsten January 3, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    I’ll tell you a secret.
    Some days I’m so busy that all I can manage are a few sentences on a post-it at work. But it’s all story, and, like you say, starting is the usually the hardest part.

    Good luck with your job search!

  2. never2late2write January 4, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    Great idea Kirsten! I can find a post-it just about anywhere at work–even at home when I’m cooking dinner or paying bills.

Leave a Reply

