What Can You Control?

8 Jan

After vacationing for nearly two weeks, I returned to work in Downtown Los Angeles. Back to reality. Real life decisions. February 1, 2012 our agency will have been abolished.

Do I stay at my current job until I’m laid off? Until we close out everything? Do I search for new work now?

I’ve gotten over the initial shock.  It’s as if we are planning our own funeral. Meanwhile, several colleagues are contemplating complete life changes. Many are looking into early retirement. One is going to work overseas. Another is going to open up her dream cupcake shop. Someone else is going write a memoir. A few are leaving California–too expensive they say.

Los Angeles Police Department: Prepared

Occupy LA: Did it help or hamper us?

Los Angeles turned upside down. Drama, crime, and joblessness abound.

The climate is murky. Uncertain.

The one thing I can control is writing. All I have to do is show up at the computer, or pull out a notebook and pen. Then write. Diving into my novel, even if I only have a few minutes, energizes me for the rest of the day.

                          What can you control that will  give your life more meaning?

4 Responses to “What Can You Control?”

  1. oldgamer January 8, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    Do I stay at my current job until I’m laid off? Until we close out everything? Do I search for new work now?

    Find a job as fast as you can. As you see your job is finished. No reason to stay till they lock the doors. Your first priority is you and your family… not the job that is letting you go in February.

  2. Kaitlin January 8, 2012 at 3:11 am #

    Go for it. I’m the same way, I just gotta get out there and write and I feel better about the world.

  3. Kirsten January 9, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    There is so much in life we can’t control–our jobs, the economy, our health (to an extent)–that it seems overwhelming at times. One of the things that attracts me to writing is that with my words I can create a world that responds to my own whims. It is a happy place to be. 🙂

  4. Miss Kitty Roads January 14, 2012 at 4:46 am #

    I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award, please visit here to see what to do next; http://misskittyroads.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/ thank-you/ Thank you for sharing your blog with me and or following my journey as well it is truly a privilege.
    -Miss Kitty Roads.

Leave a Reply

