Birthing The 30 Year Old Novel

14 Jan

It’s 6:45 a.m. I spent an hour and a half working on my novel this morning. For me that’s a lot of time. I typically have 30 minutes or less to write before getting ready for work during the week. I follow Anne Lamott’s Advice: Take it bird by bird. Her book, Bird by Bird is an inspirational read to get the creative juices going.

This morning, I need to get ready for my Toastmasters 4 Writers meeting. I’m the president so I have to show up.  I joined this club a year and half ago wanting to improve my public speaking skills. I claimed that I wasn’t a writer but the club’s energy inspired me.  Meeting with fellow writers in person twice a month motivated me to put my “book in brain” onto paper. Image

The truth is I’ve been wanting to write this novel for decades! Now at the age of 50 I’m finally doing it. It took me six months to complete the outline. It turned out to be 185 pages. The good news is that I have a wealth of information that makes writing the first draft not so difficult. I’m aware this project will take time with plenty of re-writes.  But I’m optimistic that I’ll be in the right place at the right time and will meet the right people in completing this exercise.

As for publishing it, I’m not looking for fame and fortune. Nor am I going to debt myself just to publish this novel. My ultimate goal is to say that I wrote a novel–beginning to end. I will worry about the business and marketing side of this later.

3 Responses to “Birthing The 30 Year Old Novel”

  1. Kirsten January 17, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    We must be on the same wavelength. I am just starting to read Bird by Bird. 🙂
    It’s so exciting that you’re starting a first novel. Have fun with it!

    • never2late2write January 17, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks Kirsten. I’m glad I’m taking action on one of my life’s projects [?].

      Janet

  2. Mac January 17, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Ooh, good luck with your first novel!

    I think my advice is to not worry if your first draft is not the best quality, and to remember the quote: “Good writing is Rewriting” (or something similar). I’m sure you know that already, but when I wrote my first novel, I was alarmed by the quality! I’ve been hiding from it since. Imagine the first draft that’s uncut and unpolished 🙂

    (I do think it was extreme in my case – at the time I was 12 and had a larger ego than normal because I had written 15,000 words so far but when I reached the end I realised that I couldn’t even tell the difference between ‘their’ and ‘there’ back then. I didn’t know what a Mary Sue was – and that I had loads of them!)

Leave a Reply

