Writer Without a Muse

4 Feb

Friday night.  Me and my laptop–and my fellow bloggers. But no muse in sight.

Still debating whether to post any raw novel writes. My alleged muse hasn’t voiced his/her opinion on this matter. I could  write and post random stories and thoughts and see if my muse has anything to offer. Or, I could create a staged dialogue between us. No. I refuse to fictionalize my muse.  I plead out loud, “Where are you?”

No response. No whispers in my ear. No shimmering sparkles .

To satisfy my ego I tell myself that I write just fine without this overrated entity. You see, I can write in a foul mood. The words come out rough–not making much sense but I persevere anyway. The words magically fix themselves when I revisit these flawed writings. I can also write when I’m depressed. My fingers smack the keyboard clumsily while barely keeping my head upright. Writing while angry exhilarates me. It’s as if my fingers are on fire and I’m on the offense. Scorching everything in sight. When writing in happy mode, the words flow effortlessly.

As for my muse.  I need to ponder on this some more.

Credit: littlemag.wordpress.com

 

3 Responses to “Writer Without a Muse”

  1. Kirsten February 4, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    What was the saying from ‘Field of Dreams’?
    ‘If you build it, they will come?’
    I think some muses are like that, especially at first. If you are sitting there at your keyboard, pounding out words they sometimes get interested.

    I love reading short novel excerpts!

  2. never2late2write February 4, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Thanks Kirsten. An FB friend jokingly said it might have rolled under the couch again, LOL. I’ll consider the submitting novel excerpts too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Muse Needs A Vacation I Suppose | My Writer's Cramp - April 28, 2012

    […] Writer Without a Muse (never2late2write.com) This post has already been read 74 times! Eric Swett  (514 Posts) Related posts: […]

Leave a Reply

