Abandon Your Document Immediately

11 Feb

This has been one frustrating week. Today when I was writing, The Windows Security Shield blared, “You’re computer is infected. Files are being destroyed. Abandon your document immediately.” Then my anti-virus kicked in. My screen filled up with warnings, notifications and harmful file interceptions.

My old laptop seems to be working. But I’m still wary.

Thankfully, I’ve been emailing my updates to myself as well as using drop box for my most important documents. Today I wrote two paragraphs. But I didn’t lose 108 pages I’ve written so far. I consider this a win for me.

 

7 Responses to “Abandon Your Document Immediately”

  1. oldgamer February 11, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Dang girl! You need to do a clean install of Windows and then don’t let anybody on your computers. Maybe you should look into using Google Doc so all your work is saved in the cloud. Emailing and drop box are a good back up plan.

    If your machines are infected you really need to do a clean install of windows. It’s almost impossible to fully “clean” / “fix” an infected machine.

    Do it!

  2. Kirsten February 13, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    Eeekk! Sounds like a nightmare! It seems one can never do enough backups. (Thanks for the reminder.)

    Keep pluggin’ away–and backing up.

    • never2late2write February 13, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

      Crazy isn’t it? I guess you have to keep backing up and cleaning…

  3. Eden February 13, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    I don’t know what you normally use to edit files, Janet, but the few times I’ve had to do re-installs, I usually was able to recover my actual story files (I used Word Perfect and Scrivener) even without a cloud back up such as Dropbox (which I use also).

    Not sure exactly what infected your machine, but document files rarely get infected (some do, but should be able to be cleaned), and you may be able to recover them by connecting the harddrive to another machine and removing select files from the one drive and running them through an anti-virus program to check.

    And as soon as you can get your machine set back up, run these programs… a good anti-virus, a good anti-malware (they are different, and a good anti-adware program. Also, use protective browser extensions such a No-Script, Ad-Block, Flash-block and WoT to keep scripts from infecting you. (You can customize your settings to allow sites that you want for all of these.) It’ll take some setting up time, but it’s well worth it.

    And don’t let people mess with your machine… 😉

    • never2late2write February 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank for the tips Eden. I do have a husband and daughter who like my computer even though they have their own, LOL.

      • Eden February 13, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        Maybe the lure of the forbidden fruit…. My son is obsessed with both my husband’s and mine, so I do understand.

Leave a Reply

