Excerpt from Chapter 2: Adam–Christmas Eve, 1990

26 Feb

I was bored. I don’t have to many Christian friends. No Christmas plans this year. No chance of getting together with Stevie. She was out of the country right now. I decided to call Kai.

A breathy voice answered the phone. “Hello.”

“Kai, it’s me.”

“Hi Adam. You need company?”

“No,” I said too quickly. She knew I was lying.

“You only call me when you want sex.”

“That’s not true.” I cleared my throat. “Why don’t we grab a quick bite at the Korean grill by ‘SC?”

 “Adam, It’s Christmas Eve.”

“I just called the restaurant. They close at eight tonight.”

“Humph.” She exhaled into the receiver.

Pause.

She said, “Where’s your Stevie girl?”

“She’s not my girl.”

“So now you’re into blonds. What’s next Adam, 50 year old cougars?”

I didn’t answer her question. “I’ll pick you up at six.”

***

She lived in an all female residence. Several co-eds lived in a Victorian House. Men weren’t  permitted to go inside, except in the living room area during certain times of the day.

Kai stepped outside. Her statuesque legs, framed in textured black tights shot out from her black leather mini skirt; topped of by a tight black sweater, revealing her ample breasts. Her black leather over-the-knee boots accentuated her legginess.

She opened the passenger side door leading with a long leg, followed by her tightly clad body, followed by her other leg.

***

Kai took a swig of beer. “Adam, why did you really dump me?”

“Look Kai,” I said patiently. “I told you up front I don’t marry foreigners. Things were getting too serious between us.” How many times did I have to tell her this?

She blinked her eyes several times. “I know.”

Kai’s almond shaped eyes made me crazy. She looked sad. Vulnerable. I took her hand and kissed it. “We can still be friends.”

She looked down at her lap. “Friends,”  she whispered. A tear splashed onto the table.

Not even five minutes later, Kai reached underneath the table and went after my crotch.

“Stop it,” I said.

“Make me Adam,” she cooed.

I didn’t. Why was she torturing me?

She finally stopped when the waiter came by with the bill.

2 Responses to “Excerpt from Chapter 2: Adam–Christmas Eve, 1990”

  1. Kirsten February 27, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    That Adam sure likes his women, doesn’t he? I love reading these! The dialogue is so tight, and filled with tension. Keeps the story moving along nicely. 🙂

    You’re inspiring me to put up some excerpts of my own!

Leave a Reply

