Write No Matter What

27 Feb

I’m grateful for my morning writing sessions. The house is quiet. It’s my own time. A cup of coffee sits next to me while I’m working.

Last Wednesday, however, I had an interview. No time to write first thing that morning. Later that day, I wrote from my computer at work (during a permitted 15 minute break) . Today, my Sunday schedule turned upside down. I wrote this afternoon. I prefer taking a nap on Sunday afternoons.

We writers need to be flexible to keep us on top of our craft. Our muse may not feel like cooperating. Perhaps your muse is telling you, “Look I don’t do afternoons, conjure me up tomorrow morning.” Mine is still hiding somewhere—I told her/him that I’m writing whether or not s/he wants to participate.

Other challenges include when our laptops freezes up, or catches a nasty virus. Our spouse and children may need us—pulling us out of concentration. At inconvenient times, our words are constipated—they won’t drop onto the page.

Sometimes we have plenty of scenes, plot twisters and clever ideas to reveal.  Instead, we scrawl clumsy words, mis-creating sentences that offend the computer screen.

Still, we need to write—even if that means writing by hand on a notepad at Mc Donald’s amongst squealing children and obnoxious adults. Or typing the same paragraph in nine different ways;  writing heavy-handed sentences that collide into each other.

All I know is if I don’t write regularly (regardless of the quality), my creative juices will halt.

Today’s prescription: Write no matter what.

It happens to all of us.

6 Responses to “Write No Matter What”

  1. Aspergers Girls February 27, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    I cherish my sacred writing time, usually each morning from 9 until 11, or longer. Writing frees my soul, brings me clarity, and helps me face the day. It’s a challenge with dyslexia, but I love the power of words.

    • never2late2write February 27, 2012 at 12:40 am #

      Thank you Aspergers! I’m impressed that you write dealing with dyslexia! I know a couple of people who have it. I agree with you that writing frees your soul and brings clarity :).

  2. Kirsten February 27, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    It’s become a challenge for me to find strange places to get some words down. In that pursuit, I’ve written in the airport, and on the plane, in the carwash, at the coffee shop, on a break at work, on a park bench…
    And the funny thing is, when it comes time to edit the words, it is pretty much impossible for me to tell which ones were written in these weird places, and which ones were written in the peaceful environment of my desk at home.
    Knowing that I can write anywhere or anytime is very conducive to the Muse, who is now on notice that anytime he calls with an idea, I am ready with my pen to take notes!

    Great message in this post. 🙂

    • never2late2write February 27, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

      Great writing locations! I remember when you said that you sometimes write on sticky notes at work. That told me if I can write down my thoughts or snippets at work, then I can write anywhere.

      I don’t recall reading your muse’s name. Who is this genius? and how did you two meet? 😉

      • Kirsten February 28, 2012 at 12:41 am #

        LOL. I think I can hear him laughing right now, because he hasn’t told me his name yet. Even if he did tell me though I’m not sure I’d believe him! He’s playful that way.
        Anyway, we only met when I started writing. He’s been there all along, which might be sad except now that I’ve found this passion it doesn’t matter anymore. All we have is now.

        Didn’t mean to get deep on you there, but the muse works that way. He doesn’t mess around, and tends to get to the point. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Of Writing « Mutterings and St-Stutterings - February 27, 2012

    […] Write No Matter What (never2late2write.com) […]

Leave a Reply

