All Victories Count

11 Mar

Day Light Savings! I love it. The only drawback is that I have to get ahead of that lost hour.

Instead of writing during dawn’s silence this morning, I wrote amongst tweeting sparrows and cooing pigeons, accompanied by wild parrots performing their daily fly-by squawking ritual, agitating the neighborhood dogs.

I’m making steady progress with my novel. My minimum of 10-words-a-day plan is working. Sometimes, I literally have time to write only a couple of paragraphs at one sitting–but I know I can write 10 words. The best part is, I’ve trained my mind to show up to my writing sessions everyday. To me that’s a victory.

I’ve also confirmed my muses are with me, right now. I experienced “muse-envy”. I didn’t want that to get in the way of my writing. Plus my family is taking my writing seriously. They understand that I’m writing a novel. Two more victories.

I say, “Nothing is more rewarding than writing everyday–regardless of the quantity or quality. It the act of putting pen to paper or fingertips to keyboard, giving your raw creativity permission to express itself.”–Janet Walters

Pen to Paper

 

Here is a quote I’d like to leave with:

“If we had to say what writing is, we would define it essentially as an act of courage.”–Cynthia Ozick

Cynthia Ozick

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Writing.

4 Responses to “All Victories Count”

  1. waynebradley March 11, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    I may have to try this “ten words a day” goal.

  2. Kirsten March 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    It’s great to see you writing every day, and that is such a huge accomplishment! That act of faith–showing up–seems to bring the magic in the most unexpected places during the rest of the day.

    I really like your quotes. Maybe I’ll even use Cynthia Ozick’s on my blog!

    • never2late2write March 12, 2012 at 5:40 am #

      Thanks Kirsten. You’re right. Even the smallest amount of writing keeps you on track and magic does take place :).

Leave a Reply

