Like Minded Multitasking Writers

4 Apr

Many writers write full time and make a decent if not incredible living. Most others write part time, hold jobs, have kids, participate in outside activities such as church, taking care of an elderly parent or have an online business.  Yet millions of writers dream of making it big–which is fine. But even more writers make little or no money; they write anyway. The common bond? We write because we love it. We enjoy working with our muses, the solitary time, the moments or hours of creating, editing and sweating. We write because it is our labor of love.

While I enjoy my labor of love and do make time to write–I sometimes feel like I’m being pulled in many directions. I tell myself, You will write no matter what. Just write!

I want to create with people who are in the same boat as me: busy writers who are writing their first novels and want to successfully complete this task.  I do not intend to write short stories right now–I can and have done this.  Completing the novel for me is like finishing a marathon–I will get to the finish line. But it would fun and inspiring to arrive at this destiny with other first time novelists.

I have a question for you.  How does a super busy person (like myself) go about finding a supportive like-minded writers group? So that she can keep on top of completing her novel–complete the process from writing, to editing, to publishing it.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Janet

12 Responses to “Like Minded Multitasking Writers”

  1. Writerlious April 4, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Hi Janet,

    I Googled writer groups and my city name. (i.e. — writing groups in Louisville). Within the first few pages of hits, several groups came up. I’ve attended a few different ones, and I just decided to stick with the ones that seemed to “fit” me best.

    I’d encourage you to see what’s in your area, attend a few meetings, and stick with the one that works. It’s not a huge time commitment either. Usuallly just once or twice a month, depending.

    Erin

    • never2late2write April 4, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Thanks for your suggestion. You’re right about finding the right fit. I’ll check out google and see what comes up

  2. scribblingadvocate April 4, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    It’s difficult but try the local library. Just a word of warning, writing groups can damage your confidence, and your ‘voice’. You can’t write by committee, but it’s great to talk about books and writing with others who enjoy the same things. I think a writers salon may be more helpful, so why not start your own.

    • never2late2write April 4, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      Ooooh. I like that. How does a writers salon work?

      • scribblingadvocate April 5, 2012 at 9:17 am #

        You need a place to meet and just two or three other writers and start by everyone bringing a book they’ve just read to get people talking and then hopefully they will want to talk about their hopes and aspirations for writing. There was an article in the Winter edition of Myslexia about a writers salon.

      • never2late2write April 16, 2012 at 6:23 am #

        Hi Scribblingadvocate, where can I find Myslexia?

      • scribblingadvocate April 20, 2012 at 11:27 am #

        Its a magazine for women writers based in the UK. I don’t have the website address at the moment, but will contact you with it when I do.

  3. jamieayres April 5, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    I first checked my library and found nothing so like Writerlicious, I googled writing groups in my area and came up with 3 that are fantastic so then it was just a matter of finding which one I wanted to devote my time to. ~Good luck!!!

    • never2late2write April 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks Jamie. I’m going to make this a fun adventure and not stress out too much–and do what others have suggested by getting this first draft done. I’m sure if I put it out there in the writers’ universe, I will attract the right people :).

  4. Kirsten April 5, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Hi Janet,
    I was fortunate to find a real world writing group through NaNoWriMo. (National Novel Writing Month) My ‘region’ has a super-active group, and, though most of them are short story writers, a few are first time novelists, and a few are more experienced writers. I found that to be a great fit for me. We don’t meet all that much, and do a lot of our correspondence on-line, but knowing that they are out there if I run into a roadblock, or want to celebrate a break-though is exactly what I need to keep me afloat.
    I agree with ‘scribblingadvocate’ that novels–especially at the first draft stage–are best written with ‘the door closed’ (to borrow Stephen King’s metaphor) and that the gory details of fixing plot holes etc. are left for revision. My writing group has the good sense to respect that, and provides nothing but gushing enthusiasm at that fragile stage of story creation!
    I’ve been able to interact with writers in the on line classes I take as well, and met many talented writers at all stages of the learning curve.
    You probably already know that I got a lot of inspiration to finish my novel draft following Holly Lisle’s Write A Book With Me group and posting word counts to keep me on track. I’ve tried to keep up the tradition with varying degrees of success, but I can’t seem to get the point across that posting regular word counts finishes novels. Perhaps it’s because I’m revision now and don’t have word counts–or simply because I’m not Holly Lisle. 😉
    Finishing novels is all about regular word counts though, and you are doing just fine with those. I will continue to cheer your progress! 🙂

    • never2late2write April 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      You are awesome Kirsten. Thank you for your guidance and support. And no I’m not familiar with Holly Lisle–I think I need to check her out :).

      Thanks again.

      Janet

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ring, Ring…. « Following The Dream - April 5, 2012

    […] Like Minded Multitasking Writers (never2late2write.com) […]

Leave a Reply

