Writing is Like Exercising

15 Apr

I’ve been extremely busy for the last two weeks and will be for the next month. Now more than ever,  I need to practice what I preach. In addition to working full time, being a wife and a mother, I’m a Toastmaster: where I am a District Leader and President of my home club, Toastmasters 4 Writers. 

I’ve missed a couple of novel-writing days last week. I made an honest effort not to beat myself up. Looking at my writing from a positive perspective, I’ve given several speeches in the last few weeks–I’ve been writing speeches just about everyday. Then I gently reminded myself that writing is like exercising.

Credit-sampson-annoited-tech-resources.com

If you stop exercising, your muscles will atrophy–degenerate. Something similar takes place in writing: When you start missing your sessions, your creativity becomes stifled. Your muses vanish.  That said, I need to pick up where I left off to continue my adventure in writing my novel, Intrigue. 

Credit: didyouwearthat.com


How do you keep on top of your writing when life happens?

10 Responses to “Writing is Like Exercising”

  1. Kirsten April 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Hi there, Janet!
    I missed you. 🙂
    Considering all the years I spent not writing, it feels odd to say that if I didn’t find a way to write I would feel empty, but writing does feel more like fueling an addiction than building a habit to me.
    So I’ve found a lot of ways to fit some words into my day.
    On most days I get some words in the morning at 750words.com. It’s a great little website (free) where you can open an account and write on a wide open blank screen anything that strikes your fancy. Lots of time I end up writing stories or scenes, but I’m free to whine about how busy I am or anything else that’s on my mind. No one will ever see these words if I don’t want them to.
    I also carry a little notebook in my purse for my little ideas, and a bigger notebook in my car for my big ideas. Sometimes it’s fun to sit in the coffee shop and write out a scene, just for me.
    Even just a little visit to my story makes me happy.
    Don’t feel bad for not getting to your story. I think you’ll be surprised that it has grown on you while you were away. 🙂

  2. Emma May 16, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    Hi Janet!
    I’m so glad I found you site. I feel like a found a kindred spirit when I read “Coming Out of the Writer’s Closet.” That is so me. I wrote about you on my new site. I hope you’ll stop by and visit.
    Emma

  3. orestgtd July 3, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    Hi Janet. I didn’t know there were Toastmasters for Writers clubs.

    I recently adapted two scenes I’ve written for a novel into two speech projects I delivered out of the Interpretive Reading manual, for my ACB.

    After that experience I’ve been wondering about the idea of developing scenes as speeches as a way of getting feedback and improving my writing process.

    I found that through the act of preparing and presenting each scene as a speech in front of an audience I connected with my characters and the guts of the scene in a way that I don’t when it’s just me and printed words on a page (or on a screen).

    I’ll search for a Toastmasters for writers club in my home division.

    • never2late2write July 6, 2012 at 6:41 am #

      Hello.

      As a matter of fact, I have used parts of my novel and used scenes/situations as speeches to credit–great way to complete your communication manuals. The main critique I received was, “Well done. Even though though you’re reading from your manuscript, I recommend you be more familiar with it so you can give your audience more eye contact and better connect with them. If you don’t have a Toastmasters Writing Club, you can start one up. Find 20 interested potential members and let your District Governor know. That way, you will have a TM Writers club in your area.

      Sincerely,

      Janet

  4. never2late2write July 6, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    Hi. Thanks for your posting your info and including my blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Found A Kindred Spirit - May 16, 2012

    […] of her recent posts is Writing is Like Exercising I was reminded of how important regular writing is. She’s busy “In addition to working […]

  2. A successful writing session | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer - July 2, 2012

    […] Writing is Like Exercising (never2late2write.com) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Writing and tagged Creative writing, Interview, Writers Resources, Writing Exercises. Bookmark the permalink. ← Article from 1952 – Toastmasters’ Club Holds Charter Night […]

Leave a Reply

