Putting Pen to Paper

27 May
Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

Putting the pen to paper, AKA free form writing

I’ve been itching to do this for so long.  I can longhand write anytime, anywhere. Yet I still feel the need to type out the words for them to count as writing. I remind myself  longhand writing does count. In fact it feels more creative. Raw. Uncensored. It’s amazing what junkyard thoughts and brilliant nuggets of words show up on the page.

Putting the pen to paper is like meditating. Words flow out. My creative genius presents itself and the writing emerges. Is free form, writing a waste of time? I don’t think so. In fact, I’ve decided to include it with my daily writings. It limbers my brain–like a warm up before the event.

I dug out my morning pages. I took Julia Cameron’s  The Artist’s Way journey almost three years ago.

 

I wrote my morning pages religiously for over six months. The scrawled writings surprised me. I read angry paragraphs, pity parties, and jealous stories (which I didn’t realize at the time of writing).  I also read inspiring words, heartfelt memoirs, and rib tickling anecdotes.

Here’s to Putting Pen to Paper!

How do you connect with your creative genius?

3 Responses to “Putting Pen to Paper”

  1. Writing Jobs May 27, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    That was an excellent post today. Thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today!

    Writers Wanted

  2. Kristina Stanley May 28, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    I find I use pen and paper when I’m trying to figure out where to go with a story. This seems to work better for me than the computer. I like to use a good pen, and I keep my notes in a leather bound notebook. I don’t’ know why but it makes the writing seem real. Love to find a shady spot to sit and write. It’s more romantic than sitting at a desk!

  3. Kirsten May 29, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Pen and paper works really well for me when I’m intimidated by a scene I’m about to write–usually the climactic scenes of the story for me. I’ll take the notebook out into the woods and sit under a tree where I can write the darn thing as if no one will ever see it. That way, if it turns out badly, I can pretend I didn’t just destroy the biggest scene in the book!
    Fortunately, the scenes usually turn out okay, and I end up with a rough sketch to which I can add more details when I type it in.
    Writing longhand is a liberating way to get thoughts out that seem to resist the clarity of my computer screen.

Leave a Reply

