Toss in Some Backyard Tidbits in Your Writing

6 Jul

Verdugo Mountains

I marvel at the infinite topics, scenes and descriptions that surround me. I need to remind myself that even though I grew up in Burbank CA and now live in Glendale, CA, my boring upbringing holds a plethora of ideas I can blend into my writing.

Some backyard tidbits can include speculation about Kim Kardashian being the next Glendale Mayor; or explore the rumor about Paris Hilton wanting to join  Toastmasters.

I can also interject other tidbits of my world of smog, traffic and crowded stores. My neck of the woods provides  people coming from all backgrounds. The buzz of the entertainment industry lies just a couple of miles from home. I can even include the simplicity and beauty of the Verdugo  Mountains that stretch out behind my backyard.

Working with these thoughts and things, I can create a scene, a short story or sprinkle in my novel. What backyard tidbits can you toss into your writing?

Kim Kardashian at the Bob Hope Burbank Airport

.

One Response to “Toss in Some Backyard Tidbits in Your Writing”

  1. Kirsten July 8, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Kim Kardashian is going to be the next mayor of Glendale? Truth really is stranger than fiction!
    I like the idea of including details of the time and place we live in our stories. It lends them authenticity, that makes them seem more real to me.
    I’ve used details of our times, like the date of Leslie Nielson’s death, and I use a lot of songs and lyrics, and the dates of the lunar landings along with the lunar eclipses in my stories. Not necessarily my backyard, but part of the world I live in, nevertheless. 🙂

    The world around us definitely affects the stories we tell about it!

Leave a Reply

