Excuses, Crises & Writing

18 Aug

I’ve neglected my writing for over a month now. I tossed it aside and allowed life to rule me. My muses have been gnawing on my brain and fingers. Their intensity increases daily. Well, truthfully my kitty-cat muse, Sebastian is guilting me by rubbing his head over my feet and purring loudly when I pick him up. It’s as if he’s telling me, “Prrrrrrwrite.” My other muse Michael is saying, “Can’t you hear me? What are you waiting for? Don’t abandon what you love so dearly.” While Gabriel is patiently telling me, “Dearest one, you are going through difficult times, but you can write. In fact, you need to write. It will clear your mind and heal your soul.”

Well here I am. I’m writing. I’ve been making excuses, being so busy with life challenges.  I remind myself of the name of my blog: Never2Late2Write. My Message has been all I need to do is WRITE 10 words a day. Ten words a day? Anyone can do that.

This morning, I made a conscious effort to set aside my family and personal crises (I have several things going on) for just a few minutes this morning–to write.

Woman in CRISIS mode

It feels good. I remind myself that writing with a  laptop or in longhand both COUNT. I’m feeling. I’m expressing. And I’m writing.

How do you stay on top of your writing when you’re in crisis mode?

 

4 Responses to “Excuses, Crises & Writing”

  1. Kirsten August 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    I know. Taking some time to write feels quite selfish when my loved ones are in crises and I do feel guilty taking that little bit of time to get some words. But, it helps me to remember that writing is something that I do for myself, and that those around me will be better off with a happier me.
    Even twenty minutes alone in a coffee shop with a notebook can fill that need to get the words off your chest. Trust me.

    • never2late2write August 20, 2012 at 7:24 am #

      I trust you Kirsten ;). Just showing up to the page and writing for even the briefest time makes a huge difference.

  2. C. A. Husted August 19, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    While going through rough times, it’s often the easiest to write about the personal feelings that you experience, in a personal journal. Writing these types of things in a personal journal gets them out of your head for a time, and you’re able to reference them at a later date, whenever (and if) you ever feel the need.

    There is a silver lining that surrounds every cloud. I hope you’ve found the light shining through the fog and remember that it’ll get better with time.

    • never2late2write August 20, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      You are so right. It does feel good to write down my feelings and get this stress out of me.

Leave a Reply

