DAY 1: INTRIGUE, Prologue: Post #001

20 Aug

PROLOGUE—STEPHANIE “STEVIE” RUSH, EARLY JUNE 1992

I answered the phone. White noise washed through my ears. An empty but familiar voice said, “Hi Stevie. How are you?”

“I’m fine. How are you Adam?” I gripped the phone handle tightly

“Stevie, I have bad news.”

I sensed hesitation and dread in his voice. Something was wrong. “What is it?” My eyes and chest pounded.

The white noise sounded again for several seconds.

“Stevie, you have to cancel your plane ticket. My parents are not ready to meet you.”

“Okay.” I paused for few seconds. “When will I see you again?” My head was about to burst.

The inter-continental whoosh sounded for several seconds.

“Soon. Just cancel the ticket for now.”

It was so like him, not being able to give me a firm answer on the spot. Adam never lied to me, but he never gave definite answers either. He provided vague but optimistic responses.

My mind was spinning “Can’t you come back here? I can help you get your green card.”

“I can’t Stevie. I need more time.”

“Why not?” Just come back and get your green card, then I can meet your parents.”

Adam said, “This isn’t about getting a green card. It’s about us. I need to win my parents’ blessing too.”

White noise again. Was Adam still there? Then I heard a hollow trembling voice.

“Stevie, I have to go now. I’ll call you soon.”

“Okay,” I stammered. “Bye.”

Leave a Reply

